Kudos to Our Awesome Alumni

During Alumni Weekend this spring, the Alumni Association recognized eight alumni for contributions to their fields, communities, and alma mater. Three alumni also earned the Outstanding Young Alumni award during the undergraduate commencement ceremony in May.

OUTSTANDING YOUNG ALUMNI—Three young alumni received recognition for outstanding work in their field and community: Eric M. Fischgrund ’06, founder and CEO of FischTank; Emily (McLaughlin) Goodine ’07-’12M, elementary principal at Waynesboro Area School District; and Ryan Shontz ’05, head of performance for Americas at Aberdeen Asset Management.

DISTINGUISHED ALUMNI—The Jesse S. Heiges Distinguished Alumni award, named for SU’s first dean of academic affairs, honors alumni who distinguished themselves in their field: Cindy (Adams) Dunn ’80-’81m, secretary for the Pennsylvania Department of Conservation and Natural Resources; Dr. Khalid N. Mumin ’95, superintendent of schools in Reading School District; US Sen. C. Jeanne Shaheen ’69, D-NH; and Bryan P. Wright ’88, senior vice president and CFO of Exelon Generation.

EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE—The service award thanks the unselfish efforts of alumni for the betterment of the university: B. Michael Schaul ’71-’72M, president and managing partner for Economic Strategies Group, LTD; and Donald ’75, retired executive director of the Berks County Bar Association, and JoAnn ’75 Smith.

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT—This award recognizes lifelong career achievements and personal commitment: Dr. Pamela (McNew) Foster ’75-’82M, retired science teacher in the Carlisle Area School District.

ALUMNI HUMANITARIAN AWARD—In recognition of his impact on the diversity and cultural experience of students on campus, this award was presented to Kenneth L. Minefield ’87, casework supervisor for the Allegheny Department of Human Services.